If you need to print a document with sensitive information, such as Personally Identifiable Information or NDA-sanctioned information, you probably don't want anything confidential sitting on a shared printer for any amount of time before you can retrieve your print job. You can, however, protect the print jobs you send by sending specific jobs to be stored on the printer to be printed out at a later time. The stored or secured print job can be unlocked and printed out at the printer using a PIN, which can be set up before you send a print job. This feature is available on the deployed HP printers as well as the Admin Copier in the mailroom.
A few recommendations:
- Make sure you have the printer installed on your Mac or Windows machine. This feature is not available on Google Cloud Print.
- Make sure the Job Storage feature is enabled on your machine. On Macs, this can be done when you install the printer drivers. However, for both Mac and Windows, you can enable the feature after installing printers.
- Use the Personal Job option to ensure no one else can see your print job by accident.
- Name your print job so you can recognize it, and designate a PIN that isn't easy to guess.
To use the Job Storage feature, refer to HP's tutorial video as well as written instructions for both Mac and PC available on their website: https://support.hp.com/us-en/document/c04800877